In 1967 the University Council passed Statute 32 giving the NBRS a large degree of independence but keeping strong connections with the Faculty of Engineering and Architecture in the form of affiliation.

In 1977, the University Council passed the revised Statute 32, whereby NBRS developed into the present Building and Road Research Institute (BRRI).

In 1983, the Statute was revised again, whereby a resolution was passed by the Council allowing the Institute to provide post graduate studies leading to Master Degrees in Building Technology and Road Technology and/or Ph.D. degrees in the relevant fields of specification.

In 2006, the University Council passed the new Institute's Statute, according to which four departments were formed. They are:

1. Department of Architecture and Physical Planning

2. Department of Building Materials and Structures

3. Department of Geotechnology

4. Department of Road Engineering